Hubs Got Me a New Computer

Now if I can just figure out how to type on it and use it.

Carol Burt
1 min readAug 13, 2021

I have a new computer. You would be able to tell if you saw all my backspaces and do-overs. My old one had a small, tight keyboard. This one is much bigger, nicer, and has a wise, oops, I mean wide, keyboard. And things, meaning letters, are much farther away than on my old rig.
The backspace is so far over that my little pinky will barely stretch over to it, and I keep hitting = when I mean to hit backspace.
I’m sure I’ll get accustomed to it, but it won’t be today, and probably not tomorrow either. Meanwhile, I’ll keep hitting = when I meant to backspace to get rid of the E that was supposed to be a W,=.
Oh brother. Thanks for teading, I mean reading, my sad story.

--

--

Carol Burt

Former print journalist, former mayor, retired law enforcement officer. Writing about politics and government along with random personal essays.