Carol Burt
2 min readJul 6, 2021

--

I Can’t Figure Out How To Design My Page

Is anyone else flummoxed by designing their page? I am. I guess I’m too old to figure it out. Interestingly, though, my husband, who was a programmer before he retired several years ago, and is still pretty computer savvy, couldn’t make sense of it, either.

My copy is spread all over the place, although I want it in nice margins with white space all around. My font is big and stupid-looking. It’s a curly-cue-looking one. I guess I picked it, but if I did, I want to unpick it and I cannot change it.

I go in to “Design your profile” in the drop down from my profile photo. I go to my page and fix everything that’s bothering me, like the font. I tried to make my margins larger by using a sidebar, but I still have only a header and no sidebar. No matter what I do, when I go look at my page, nothing changes.

Am I just stupid, or what? I mean there are little places to click on to make this or that, but nothing on my profile changes.

I want my stories to look pretty much like they look as I am writing them. In the middle of the page with about 1/4 of the page on each side. I want to my stories to look like this.

But, no, no matter how try or what I try, I can’t get my profile page to be like I want it to be.

I guess I’m too damn old to figure it out.

Does anyone else have this problem?

--

--

Carol Burt

Former print journalist, former mayor, retired law enforcement officer. Writing about politics and government along with random personal essays.