I’m Just Here for the Margaritas

Serious writing makes a dull girl

Carol Burt
2 min readMay 19, 2023
Photo by Johnny McClung on Unsplash

Three-hundred and eighty-six. That’s a lot.

And the that is the number of stories I’ve written and published on Medium since 2019.

But I go in fits and starts and the writers’ discipline I’ve heard so much about seems to have skipped me.

I go a bit wild when I think of a good story. Oh, okay, any story.

I stop whatever thing I am doing and take off to my computer. Then I spill word after word onto my screen until I feel a stopping point.

Then I try to edit the mess. But I’m not very good at it and a lot of stupid stuff makes it to the published version. Oh, well, shoot me. It’s not as if I’m really being paid for the work anyway. And I don’t care about that.

I decided long ago that I’m not going to be Medium-famous or make thousands of dollars or anything like that and whatever I do here on this platform will be just for satisfaction — my own.

I write for the fun of it. Isn’t that the best we can do? At least it is for me because I’m undisciplined, write only when I feel like it, and write whatever I want with little consideration for what my readers want. Sometimes I go on break from writing for a week or more and say not one word into the Medium machine.

--

--

Carol Burt

Former print journalist, former mayor, retired law enforcement officer. Writing about politics and government along with random personal essays.