Night Terror

Carol Burt
2 min readApr 6, 2020
Photo by Lynn Kintziger on Unsplash

I woke him at 3 a.m.

Because I couldn’t know alone

For even one more second

It may never be the same

Normal may not be out there

Once the fevers drop

And the coughing stops

And the dying die

The sick recover

Will the world we knew

Be there to come back to

I want this to stop

It’s gotten too grave

Now it’s quietly creepy outside

Where I love to sit on my porch

Nothing seems to be moving

The traffic has quit coming by

The neighbors are out of sight

All shut up in their houses

Will ambulances still come

If like the others

We suddenly can’t breathe

Next week

Or even the next

They will come

We must believe

Help will come

Maybe there will be fewer

And even fewer

--

--

Carol Burt

Former print journalist, former mayor, retired law enforcement officer. Writing about politics and government along with random personal essays.